Skip to product information
1 of 1

Medea

Medea

Regular price $27.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $27.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Author
Binding
Publisher

Discover the full story of the sorceress Medea, one of the most reviled and maligned women of Greek antiquity, in this propulsive and evocative debut in the tradition of Circe, Elektra, and Stone Blind

Among the women of Greek mythology, the witch Medea may be the most despised

Known for the brutal act of killing her own children to exact vengeance on her deceitful husband, the Argonauts leader Jason, Medea has carved out a singularly infamous niche in our histories

But what if that isn’t the full story? The daughter of a sea nymph and the granddaughter of a Titan, Medea is a paradox

She is at once rendered compelling by virtue of the divinity that flows through her bloodline and made powerless by the fact of her being a woman

As a child, she intuitively submerges herself in witchcraft and sorcery, but soon finds it may not be a match for the prophecies that hang over her entire family like a shroud

As Medea comes into her own as a woman and a witch, she also faces the arrival of the hero Jason, preordained by the gods to be not only her husband, but also her lifeline to escape her isolated existence

Medea travels the treacherous seas with the Argonauts, battles demons she had never conceived of, and falls in love with the man who may ultimately be her downfall

In this propulsive, beautifully written debut, readers will finally hear Medea’s side of the story through a fresh and feminist lens.

View full details